As the days of 2018 go by, the excitement and anticipation regarding the FIFA Football tournament are also increasing. It is an established fact that FIFA is one of the most awaited sporting event every four years.

It is such an auspicious and grand event that people from all around the world are united and gathered due to this excitement. Although the tournament itself is held every four years yet the qualifying rounds that are held to qualify the 32 teams in the final round keeps the sporting fans excited during this gap.


Since there is a very the huge number of teams that are competing to claim a place in the final rounds of the FIFA Worldcup, therefore the qualifying matches have to be arranged to shortlist the best teams and give them an opportunity to play in the final rounds. In order to arrange these qualifying matches, the teams are grouped. Similar kind of groups is formed for the Fifa World Cup 2018 Groups.


There are two kinds of groups that are formed:

  1. Groups for the qualifying rounds of the world cup:

This is the first type of group that is formed for the Fifa World Cup 2018 Groups. In this category of groups, the teams from various countries are grouped together according to their competitions and matches in the qualifying rounds.

  1. Groups for the final rounds of the world cup:

Once the qualifying rounds have come to an end, the teams are shortlisted base on the performance of the teams in the qualifying rounds. In these Fifa World Cup 2018 Groups,  the teams that are grouped together will be playing against each other to claim one of the two spots amongst the final teams in the finale of the FIFA Worldcup. These matches between the teams will be continued till only the best two teams will be left.


There are no such criteria for the grouping of the teams. Most of the times, the grouping of the teams is coincidental as a draw is conducted to finalize the groups of the teams that would be playing against one another. There are several draws that have to be conducted in this regard. The first few draws are used as a mean to divide the teams into the qualifying rounds in subsequent groups that would play against each other till some teams are eliminated and only the best ones are left. The subsequent draws are held after the qualifying rounds and are used as a tool to determine which teams will be facing each other during the final of the FIFA tournament.


The total groups that have been finalized after the qualifying rounds for the FIFA world cup Russia 2018 are:

  1. Group A:

Russia, Saudi Arabia, Egypt, Uruguay

  1. Group B:

Portugal, Spain, Morocco, Iran

  1. Group C:

France: Australia, Peru, Denmark

  1. Group D:

Argentina, Iceland, Croatia, Nigeria

  1. Group E:

Brazil, Switzerland, Costa Rica, Serbia

  1. Group F:

Germany, Mexico, Sweden, South Korea

  1. Group G:

Belgium, Panama, Tunisia, England

  1. Group H:

Poland, Senegal, Colombia, Japan